I have recently had smoke blown up my a*** by numerous people saying how well I do social media and marketing online for my estate agency. They have asked me to give them a few pointers for their businesses which I have happily done (If they start taking the Michael then I will charge)

Anyhow, point being, I was asked by some realtors in Spain what they should be doing so i directed them to my Web Marketing for Estate Agents book. (They haven’t purchased it yet)

Lots of them do not believe me when I tell them that my agency is doing much far better than it was last year and last year it was better than the year before and again 2009 was better than 2008 which was a total disaster naturally. They are saying the economy does not lie; it does as it generalizes, they are saying that property sales are down; they are but there are far less agents to contend with and so more possible clients and they are saying prove it!

I tell them the only real way to prove it is to experience it. So buy the book and put it into practice. The crisis mind-set is not an excellent one to have if you’re expecting to sell property is it!

Competition now is a lot less so you only need to make a modicum of extra incremental effort in order to do better than the great majority of agents who are not basically making any extra effort they are just sitting on their hands in their expensive offices waiting for clients to stroll in the door.

Let us take a look at a tale in order to illustrate this.

Two men are walking through the savannah in Africa (Don’t ask me why) Suddenly they see a lion approaching. One of them has a pair of running shoes round his shoulders and he immediately starts to put them on (Again don’t ask why he had shoes with him or perhaps why the lion waits for him to tie his laces) His mate announces, “Why are you doing that, you’ve got no chance of outrunning the lion?” The answer is obvious. “I do not have to outrun the lion, I need to outrun you” (At which point his pal kicks him in the B*lls and runs off leaving him to the lion for being such a bad friend)

However the point is clear, to get a customer you only need to be better than the competition. How do you get to be better than the competition. You treat your client well. You do things that keep them returning to you. You make sure the experience when handling your company on or offline is a very good one.

So to all you realtors asking what I do , how I do it and why I do it, I’ve got my running shoes on but I did not tell you why so you could not kick me where it hurts first.

Now can you keep up or overtake me.

Get the book, follow the tips and make it better.

Graham Hunt recently wrote the Web Marketing for Estate Agencts book. He has a small estate agency in Valencia, Spain and he is wearing running shoes